Comprehensive Plan 2050

Section 66.1001(2)(i) of the State's comprehensive planning law requires that comprehensive plans be updated no less than once every 10 years. Plan updates are considered plan amendments. Washington County entered into a contract with SEWRPC in mid-2016 to update the Multi-Jurisdictional Plan adopted by the County Board in 2008, which serves as the County's Comprehensive Plan. The Multi-jurisdictional Comprehensive Plan for Washington County: 2050 was adopted April 10th, 2019.

Click link below to view the 2050 Comprehensive Plan Chapters, Appendices, and Amendments.

2050 Comprehensive Plan Chapters

View the Washington County Comprehensive Plan StoryMap

View the Washington County Comprehensive Plan Interactive Map

StoryMap and Interactive Map include large datasets and may take a while to load. Please be patient.

A Multi-Jurisdictional Comprehensive Plan Advisory Committee was established by the Public Works Committee to guide preparation of this plan update. The Advisory Committee is comprised of one representative from each local government partner, two members of the County Board, interest group representatives, and one citizen member.

2050 Comprehensive Plan Cover

 Robert Bingen  Town of Addison Chairperson
 Steve Wendelborn  Town of Barton
 Tammy Kennedy  Town of Erin
 Duane Wollner  Town of Farmington Supervisor
 Paul Metz  Town of Germantown Chairperson
 Maurice Strupp  Town of Hartford Chairperson
 Sandy Pasbrig  Town of Kewaskum Plan Commission Member
 Albert Schulteis  Town of Polk Chairperson
 Dennis Kay  Town of Trenton
 Mike Saman  Town of Wayne Supervisor
 Matt Heiser  Village of Kewaskum Administrator
 Paul Huettl  Town of Jackson Supervisor
 Mile Heili  Village of Newburg
 Julie Gabelmann  Washington County Economic Development Corp.
 Donald Kriefall  County Board Supervisor
 Mike Parsons  County Board Supervisor
 Justin P. Webb  Citizen Member
 Peter Muth  Farm Bureau
 John Capelle  Ozaukee-Washington Land Trust 
 Dave Johnson  Non-Metallic Mining Representative
 Robert Wessberg  Department of Natural Resources
 Roger Walsh  Big Cedar Lake Protection & Rehabilitation District
 Katrina Hanson  Real Estate Community Member
 John Walther  Village of Jackson Administrator


Wisconsin Statute Section 66.1001(4)(f) requires that county and local governments maintain a list of people who want to be informed of Comprehensive Plan changes. If you would like to be added to this list, please email [email protected] or call (262)-335-4445.